June in January

Don’t worry, it’s all in my head. In June, when all this snow and ice is but a memory I will be digging a hole for a tomato plant I plan to plant, a special plant that I hope will escape the evil fungus that encourages blossoms to blossom, to attract friendly bugs to pollinate them and produce those little green globes that will soon grow large and then red–that’s the bad part, or can be. My soil has already proved itself a haven for a fungus known more specifically, and more picturesquely, as Blossom End Rot.  And there are those of you  who also shudder at the thought of it. I think the worst part is when all unknowing you stick your thumb into the blackened juices.

It’s been thirteen years now since a waiting family gave me looks of dissatisfaction,  very critical looks and even statements such as, “Why didn’t you spray.”

Well I couldn’t say that because I don’t and never did spray. But I also had to tell them they were speaking out of ignorance.  There was no spray that could stop Blossom End Rot.

All that is destined to change. I have bought a new Composter from the Otsego County Cooperative Extension. Come June I will have bought a brand new bag of Bone meal. And I plan, perhaps with an exaggerated idea of my own gardening power, to plant a plant that will resist Blossom End Rot. And this is how I will do it.

First I will buy two tomato plants on Memorial Day. I can’t grow seeds in my sunless windows.  I will do this (kind of superstitious of me) on June 2, my birthday. On that day I will water my new plants thoroughly, go to the bed I intend to plant them in and dig a hole two feet deep. The soil here isn’t so bad really but we have to change it drastically. Now comes the tricky part. I’ll fill a third of the hole with some of the waiting compost. Now a layer of Bone Meal.  Stir well. Add water and stir again. For the third application put a couple of shovels full of the old soil and finish with compost and bone meal. Now, two feet apart and five inches down, draw a trench and remove the plants from  their pots and trim off the branches to within an inch or two of the top. Cover it all with compost and water thoroughly patting the soil firmly to remove any air that might  be caught in the soil.  I’m afraid to let my winter imagination go any farther into June for fear I’ll jinx my job, but this is the way I’ll do it.  Oh yes and I’ll plant two tall poles for my tomato plants to climb. Keep me in your thoughts and I’ll let everybody know the outcome toward the end of July.

The chickens have started laying again. Isn’t that a sign that the old climate hasn’t deserted us yet. I’m filled with hope, even as they talk over CNN tonight of the deterioration of events in Libya. We will keep the faith.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to June in January

  1. Nancy says:

    I can hardly wait to read about your healthy blossom ends. Your summer garden dreams are an antidote to the snow. Thank you.

  2. Alexa Mills says:

    In that case, what will you do between now and May 31st?

  3. Lex says:

    I am thrilled to find your blog (via your granddaughter) and I can’t wait for July to see how things go for you. And, yes. We shall keep the faith for peace and freedom in Libya.

  4. Patty Biggs says:

    I plant my tomato plants on Good Friday every year & than I plant some later in June. I do better w/the Heirlooms than the hybrids. When I garden, it reminds going w/you to your garden in West Oneonta.

Leave a Reply

