bloomsblog

That’s going to be my new title, but of course I don’t know how to make that happen. On one of my early blogs, about three weeks ago, I spoke lightly of a friend who hadn’t become acquainted with the term; that was when I thought I knew just about everything I needed to know about my new hobby.

My attachment to wordpress and blogging came about with a fluke that I have still not quite figured out. I was in the house alone. The outdoor temperature seemed scandalous for the end of February, but scandalous or not, I felt stuck in the house. My fingers floated around my inbox looking for some instructions to follow and they found an email from I don’t know where, that then told me to click on this…. and two minutes later click on that and in my dreamy, shut-in mode I found my fingers poised over a blank screen that said in so many words, Go ahead. We dare you. You are in blog country, and I typed up what I thought a blog must be, and a sign flickered Publish, and in its own small way it changed my life.

For someone who has fruitlessly spent a life writing unpublished works, this was a real gift. In an hour, as far as I knew, my own personal work drifted on westerly winds across the world, dipping down, caught in another computer and another life. Some actual people had read my blog and proved it by writing a thank you note. It would be hard to exaggerate the gratitude I felt, and it was certainly enough to last unabated for several weeks, but as so often happens one thing followed another and my blogging has taken, or will have taken, a new turn.

The scene was in Dr Michael Levenstein’s office, the tedium  as dispiriting as ever, as he considered my unchanging, boring condition. I was having a follow up check, in the course of which he asked me what I had been doing.  When I said blog the tedium in the room exploded into a great , big raucous laugh. I had touched his funny bone and turned him into the Michael Levenstein of guitar and mandolin fame. After I expressed my wonder at this revelation he went on to suggest that I post his you tube video of Tearing Down Bresees’ Department Store accompanied by his own music. You will not be surprised when I said, Sure. But that wasn’t all, for now another friend asked to show her water colors, and I was no less hospitable as I assured Lillie Anderson that I would love to show the world these charming little drawings.

Now that’s always in the back of my mind. Al I have to do is look out the back window at the hens, or think about the baked fish at St. Mary’s Lenten Fish Dinner and they all transcribe themselves on the blog that will be. Nancy will come tonight and she and Alexa will consult by phone about how to proceed with my education, and  before I know it Bloomsblog will  a reality.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to bloomsblog

  1. Patty Biggs says:

    Dorothy (Mrs. Bloom)-I am so enjoying your blogs & look forward to the evolution of bloomsblog. I remember those years when the typewriter was part of the dining room table & you had a dream. Well, it looks like it is here! Thank you… Love to you & the family….Patty

  2. Lillie Anderson says:

    Serendipity, Dorothy. That’s what it is. You’ve been blogging – without knowing it or having a word for it – all your life! And now the world of cyberspace is in on it. Thanks for mentioning my art work.

Leave a Reply

