Pros and Cons

One can probably state unequivicaly that nothing is 100%. Take this morning, for example, when our climate registered its first  anomaly of the day at 9:00 am with a temperature of 67 degrees on the 27th of April. A storm, much tamed from it’s vicious passage through the midwest, dropped lots of rain, enough to flood the basement and pool in the back yard, in the lawn faced by the rock wall you see in the banner. My choice of music to accompany the explosion of growth that took place early this morning, I guess, is June Is Bustin’ Out All Over from the musical Oklahoma. It is still seasonal but I miss its usual slow and gentle way of developing into spring. Thank goodness I got the onions in two weeks ago, and too bad I didn’t make it with peas. The later daffodils are all in bloom, early alliums  in bud. The primroses  are fighting with snow drop plants for territory and most of the perennials are up; violets get together with yellow primroses and soon the forget me nots will have carpeted all the flower beds for their day in the sun.  I can flavor my salads now with parsley and tarragon, and the dandelions are at their peak for good eating. Funny, isn’t it, when you can turn an old saw completely upside down as in

Heaven is in the details;

God is in the world view.

I am so grateful for this weather today, and here, just as I am about to complain, I see blood root still blooming and actually rising above the creeping juniper which ordinarily hides it. But I will focus. It is just too easy to dismiss the idea of climate change in the general euphoria of spring following a winter of unusual snow and cold. We must learn to pay attention, I think, to the climate that today brings us the ancient joy of returning life and realize that it heralds a darker truth. Shorelines will wash away, mountain tops will shed their snow and the world will look much changed from its delightful appearance to

Everybody knows the little things we should do everyday to keep te air clean, but we can vote on the big things. We can vote against huge economic support for fossil fuels and vote in favor of renewable sources of energy; we can vote for representatives in our legislature and our federal government who favor those actions. We can vote against representatives in government who have turned out really to be representatives of big oil, big gas and big nuclear. But we must not lose hope that we can swing it and preserve the planet for the next generation.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

