Common

Some people who know me might find it strange that I should feel sorry for  Sarah Palin, but I am not going to apologize, because her courage in facing the conventional wisdom in regard to Paul Revere’s Ride was astonishing, and the sympathy I feel is in response to the treatment she received at the hands of the media, when she answered the question from one of her group.  I believe the question was,  Why was Paul Revere riding?

She could easily have answered the question with the same old boring answer they always give, but she came up to it from the other side understanding that truth has many faces.

Paul Revere went on his ride because he wanted to tell the British, probably hiding around in the bushes everywhere, that they had better vamoose because they were in danger. He leaped on his horse ringing bells and shouting madly, The Americans are coming! The Americans are coming! I suppose he swung his lariat also.

How simply she was able to tell the story, and how trivial the complaints from critics who don’t understand that if Paul Revere didn’t have bells, he should have had them. What better way to capture the attention of our enemy. Well, she stuck to her guns and notified Wickipedia of the changes they might want to use in their explanation of the famous ride. Whether or not they took her advice I do not know, but if they don’t they really lack common sense

I mention all this because I have some reporting of my own to do. To be perfectly honest I have had a few gardening near failures, but they may be correctable. The beans have come up in a halting way, unenthusiastic and scrawny, that is the ones that have actually come up. The radishes, basil and chard are seriously attacked by some chewing insect. I feel that with a little effort I could have escaped from what I would have described as a normal planting method and tried something new. I plant three foot square beds, and it is the ones newly planted that are causing me some worry. Nancy and I dug them up, buried the rye grass intended to enrich the soil, raked. I had even soaked the beans in in that sticky brown stuff that supposedly helps the beans to grow. It goes without saying that it didn’t do one single thing for the beans. Actually I read an article a couple of days ago that told me not to soak bean seeds. I wish they would make up their minds. Do they or do they not want me to soak my bean seeds. I’m just not going to do it this time, see what happens. As for the basil, I just bought a couple of plants today and hope those nasty nematodes that I noticed squirming around in the soil have had enough to eat. Or maybe the nematodes have been gobbling up the root systems of the plants that never made it out of the ground. I hardly ever have my glasses on when I work in the garden, so naturally I can’t read the package, which you can’t be sure that they are telling the truth anyway. And they never tell you anything about the bugs either. You just have to use your common sense to figure out what did happen or what should happen the way Sarah did with Paul Revere. You can bet that if Sarah Palin was president she wouldn’t be sitting around crying over what to do. She would just hitch up that remarkable common sense of hers and figure out in a minute any decision she had to make. Not many of us have that terrific ability. So I feel sorry for her for having to suffer all that mean talk directed at her, but hey, she’s a winner and is sure to be willing and even eager to suffer all the way to the bank.  Way to go, Sarah.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

