The Last Chicken

Golden

 

Alone, alone but nearly time to be joining the two roosters and four hens of the flock in the big chicken yard in the sky.

And I do mean the sky.  Unless there is an invisible malevolent force out there just waiting to pounce, I believe it is a hungry hawk, or possibly an owl waiting for darkness to fall and the ripe moment to snatch the helpless adolescent, but tender, girl for his supper. I don’t believe we make a good family to keep chickens. We aren’t serious enough.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Last Chicken

  1. Nancy Bloom says:

    You’re a techno genius. Accept it. Enjoy your glory.

  2. Elizabeth Bloom says:

    Farewell Ladies!

  3. Alexa says:

    And what a beautifully arranged post!

  4. Alexa says:

    Hi Grandma! here is Christina’s new blog: http://www.happygainesville.com/ She is working very hard on it.

    • dorothybloom says:

      Hi Christina,

      I am familiar with Gainseville becaus I sometimes visit Cedar Key and spend some time in less edifying places such as Walmart,

      but I love the University Book Store.

      Several areas are familiar ro me, in particular the stae park and th plants. And my favorite pcture is of your litl boy marchin through iant sgtnds of bamboo. You are a fine perceptiver, photographer, I’m going to subscribe, Dorothy

  5. Christina says:

    Dorothy, thank you so much!

    I’m just getting my legs with this blog but it’s very exciting. I have been to Cedar Key and plan to return and write a post about it as a friend recently informed me that for the past three years in a row Tony’s Seafood Restaurant in Cedar Key has won the Great Chowder Cook-Off in Newport, RI to the chagrin of many New Englanders.

    I am having fun with the camera too. Helps one notice the good moments (bamboo forest) and the ones that maybe need to be cut back on (too many tater tots at Sonic…). Still nice to capture him right now as he grows an inch with every nap!

    I must tell you that your blog inspired me to start Happy Gainesville. Thank you for sharing your stories, Florida is nice but we long for the deciduous forests and enjoy your posts of gardening and just life in general. Our two little tomato plants were recently devoured by giant tomato hornworms (which we’re now monitoring closely with our little one).

    Thank you for subscribing,
    Best regards,
    Christina

Leave a Reply

