Just only asking the question

The other day I spoke about the sudden appearance, or perhaps I should say nonappearance, of the invisible line that separates the various  stages of life. Shakespeare said seven stages for men and didn’t mention women at all, but I think that’s okay, that in those days when they said man they meant humans all together.

And what in the world did I mean by “sudden.” Properly speaking any thing I notice is “sudden” even if it’s been creeping  up for five or ten years. So that you could say that what has suddenly appeared to me is by this time well-established, and in this particular case my hip has probably been going bad since about 1989.

First, in 1989 I suffered a muscle spasm when I leaned back into a door that did not exist. With nothing to hold me in, of course, I went head first down the front steps, wisely kept my head up and seat down. Various trivial insults of this kind occurred, but I proved to the world my extreme fitness by climbing Mt. Madison and Mt. Washington. I don’t believe I ever thought a doctor might be interested in anything as insignificant as my right leg. In that way time flew by, one day seeming much like the last, until “suddenly” I could hardly raise the right leg far enough to tie my sneaker.

I only thought of all this today. I am not prepared for anything as drastic as a new hip. It isn’t like getting a new pair of boots or getting the blue couch recovered, though God knows that couch has a history, too. Harry and I bought that love seat at Bresees during its final Clearance Sale. Harry was always good at knowing whether household furnishings or appliances were a good enough quality and he thought that this love seat of a bright blue plush on the outside, but fitted out with all kinds of metal safeguards hidden inside was worth the money. So we bought it, and given our usual ignorance of the ways of the world, had no idea that it would be the last thing we would ever buy from Bresees, no idea that Bette Caddis would never be found again behind the Bresees candy counter, no idea that as I am preparing myself for a new hip, Main Street is preparing for a new front for the old Bresees building that is to be turned into fancy upstairs apartments and store fronts calculated to bring lots of folks, new walkers like me, perhaps, to downtown Oneonta.

Suddenly! Let me say that nothing is sudden, all has been directed to this or that end by the ravages of time. Perhaps some people would comment that the word ravages is a bit over the top, expressive of some disaster or other. But one has to realize that the world is one big ravage constantly under repair. Pause for just a moment and consider the earth quake. The earth quakes on a daily basis. The plates that hold the continents over the water are always running into each other  and causing trouble, all kinds of trouble. One of these days San Francisco is going to break off from the bay, from Oakland, from the whole west coast, and then what will happen? Why some brand new city will pop up  someplace, maybe not such a good climate, but brand new anyway. If it hadn’t been for the plates there wouldn’t be highest mountains for people to climb and break their legs on so that they could get a new hip.

As I said, nothing is sudden. I would be willing to bet that I will be getting something that I think is new, but will turn out to have been in the works for maybe decades. Harry used to say that the things we worry about never happen. Of course not. We fix the things we worry about and in the fixing prepare the way for an event that we might think would never happen in a million years. One thing I can think of. Say we owned property on  a hill and decided to cut down all the trees and build a grand house on it. First we cut down the trees which had been gripping their roots in the shale and soil. going so far as to dig  in much of the shale for a foundation. Can you guess what might happen? A few years of rain, freezing and thawing, a fire that takes away the grasses and a further sudden heavy rain (brought about by climate change?) and the whole place slides down hill, only to be resurrected by a new, more modern architect.

Doesn’t it really make you wonder if TIME is the great CEO that presides over the growth and development of the universe, always making the necessary improvements to its establishment. Never at rest.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Just only asking the question

  1. Nancy Bloom says:

    …no because the moment is as powerful as the process. Even though it took a long time and a lot of hikes and minor insults to ruin your hip and right leg, the pain IS sudden. That pain is in the moment. Another beautiful post Mom. Thank you.

  2. עפרה says:

    I tend to agree with Dorothy on this as I find pain in all it’s manifestations as part of a process, which is taking place, not necesarilly according to our desires and plans. The moment is is powerful in it own right, as it dominates our perception and choice making.
    This doesn’t mean there is reason behind all this. Harry’s lines reminded me of something atributed to John Lennon (I think). It goes: life is what takes place when you make other plans.
    Thank you, so much, Dorothy, for your inspiring blog.

  3. Dear Dorothy, I love reading your blog. You are an amazing person, and it’s a privilege to know you. Happy holidays. Love, Bertha

  4. Alexa says:

    Thanks, Grandma. I love you. I am a week behind reading this one! But what a treat for a Saturday morning.

Leave a Reply

