Responsibility

Our elders seem to believe that the present generation of young people has no hope. They believe we are a lost cause because, in general, we ignore them, rely on quick-fixes rather than hard work, self-medicate on drugs and alcohol, and are open about our “free-love” sexuality.  Yet we do not stop to think about the future because we often live in the moment. It’s my belief that our presumed downfall isn’t all our fault. It’s time that all the parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents get off of our backs, pick up a pen, and take some notes on how to be real.

by Ursala Brantley — mitcolabradio

This is not news. Throughout any lifetime, the interests of a specific     age trumps the whole life interest of any individual. The problem comes about when we try to justify a complaint. In this particular post from mitcolabradio we learn that youthful behavior can be traced to the negative feelings of the adults in the community, and this can be clarified by admitting the suffering of little children. The piece has the strange meanders of the republican presidential campaign, and of course that is a worry. Young Ursula admits readily that her people “rely on quick-fixes rather than hard work, self-medicate on drugs and alcohol, and are open about our “free-love” sexuality.  Yet we do not stop to think about the future because we often live in the moment.”

Now if this is true then somebody ought to do something about it, not just belly ache over faults laid on them by the older generation. Personally I would never have come down so hard on the beautiful young people I am familiar with, talented young people who exercise their bodies and minds, generous young people who go willingly to help somebody in trouble, who try to choose life work for themselves that will benefit the whole community; these are young people who were raised by mothers and fathers equally generous, and my young friends will go on to parent their own children and at last give wise counsel to a new generation coming up.

I think we oldsters should defend our present selves by providing a backward look at a middle age spent doing good works for ourselves and for others. Let’s just try to remember that the toddler in the photo, that high schooler playing the trumpet, that young engineer, middle-aged dad, traveling retiree and rocking chair puzzleer are all subsequent renditions of the very same person. I hope Ursula remembers that as she edges up into her thirties.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Responsibility

  1. Ursula Brantley says:

    As I grow older, I’ll do my best to never forget to raise my child in the way she should be raised. I want my daughter to always remember that life is more than just her, but also the world around her. It’s a domino effect and not many people truly realize that. I appreciate those elders who commend those young people who shine. I, along with others, were raised in homes where things were hidden so it effected

  2. Ursula Brantley says:

    As I grow older, I’ll do my best to never forget to raise my child in the way she should be raised. I want my daughter to always remember that life is more than just her, but also the world around her. It’s a domino effect and not many people truly realize that. I appreciate those elders who commend those young people who shine. I, along with others, were raised in homes where things were hidden. I want my daughter to always be able to come to me with anything and to never be afraid to be exactly who she is. I’m glad my post inspired you and hope it inspires many more.

Leave a Reply

