Will I Ever Lear ing

Several dispiriting hours have passed since I first thought to blog today, and any thoughts I may have had concerning the content are long gone by now. I planned to post a video sent to me yesterday showing shot after shot of flowers in bud opening up to, finally, their full and ripe glory…….: roses, lilies, snapdragon, sunflowers, pansies. you name it , they were all here in the whole array of astonishing color. They are very beautiful. I am not sure what I expected exactly, when I proceeded to upload them to the new blog, but I did think that the process of copying and pasting would proceed at a perfectly smooth and reliable pace, following which, I would write great prose in appreciation.

Now that I think about it, I don’t know why I thought the process was going to be smooth and reliable. There was nothing in my past except for unstoppable optimism that might have suggested this, and I am embarrassed to admit that the only way I can get out of one of these messes is help from a man, a man between the ages of ten and fifty-five. There was no man who fit that profile in the house today, all day. Over and over I clicked edit and copy, edit and paste, and finally, always and always some different alignment of these directions popped up on the screen, which, as far as I know, I handled wrong. But not being the kind of wimp that gives up I kept on trying. Time continued to pass. The sun made its way around the corner of the house. Well, it was too cloudy to see the actual sun, but you get what I mean. So I got up and made myself some coffee, looked over the mail, tried again.

But isn’t it odd how often one surprise marches right up behind another. What do you think of this?

Undo                       Canadian Bishops Meeting.

Another try

Redo                        Canadian Bishops Meeting.

Why, I hardly even knew there were Canadian Bishops. Not true. Of course I knew there were Canadian Bishops, but in what way their lives or responsibilities were very much more different from any other Bishops I have no idea. Worse, I have almost no interest.  Even so I still wasn’t ready to cave. I knew what it was to be a republican at all times voting No. I did give up at last, when Fiona came home with the mail and I read an article in Popular Science about a boy genius who invented his own nuclear fusion. His mother is a yoga instructor and I’ll bet he helps her sometimes when she has computer problems.

The computer and it’s many electronic connections  have now occupied so much of our lives that I’m sure they must have changed our lives in some way. But I’m sure of something else too. The gene pool is a regular, teeming collection of different interests and talents. Just as soon as we discovered the tiniest shred of a finer understanding we were picked to do a special job. That’s how I forgive myself for my dismal performance on the computer or any of its electronic cousins.  I still dig in the garden with a spade, rake with a rake and hang the sheets on the clothesline. I’m even happy to suggest that making something with my hands gives me the most satisfying confidence in my abilities.

It would be good if children were expected to learn to do things with their hands and experience in at least a small way the joy and sense of accomplishment that comes with the conquest of a craft.  The use of ones’ hands is enough to show the course of the human destiny and help to make us question our own responsibiity in the life of the planet.

About dorothybloom

Well, I'm a bit on the elderly side , but I'm fighting the decline with my entry into the virtual world. I've been thinking for while that my situation is worth talking a, and for this reason. There is a tension between old and new. The old are intent upon keeping their authority and the young are intent on getting it for themselves. hereThis tension is as old as the Neanderthal and many of his four-legged cousins. And I want to explore that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will I Ever Lear ing

  1. Lillie Anderson says:

    Ah, yes. How right you are. Thinking and contemplating and reading are great. BUT. For real satisfaction, there is nothing like doing something with one’s hands. Cooking, gardening, drawing, painting, moving furniture. You name it. Manual labor. Especially on a dismal day like today.
    Love your insights!!!

  2. Alexa says:

    Surely computers have ruined something, although I’m not sure what it is. Mine ruins my day at least once a week. It’s amazing that I was 20 when I got my first laptop, which is 10 years ago now. Do kids no longer sew doll clothes on Saturdays?

    I could have helped you add the movie, and I’m not a man. I’m nothing like a man!

Leave a Reply

